How I Lost My Sisters (Story)

By: Me

I received the surprise of my life as I walked down the stairs that afternoon. I stopped at the middle of the stairs when I noticed Emma and Jane were talking.

“Let’s just do it,”Jane suggested.

“It seems really dumb,” Emma countered.

“Mom isn’t around, so we might not get caught,” Jane added.

“We don’t even know how,” Emma said, unsure.

“Don’t know how to what?” I  interrupted.

“That’s none of your buisness, so go somewhere else,” Jane demanded.

I then noticed mom’s car keys in Jane’s hand.

“What are you doing with those?” I asked suspiciously.

I tried to snatch the keys from Jane, but she pushed me. I almost fell back, but caught myself.

“Alannah, stay out of it,” Emma said in her best calm voice.

It really seemed like they didn’t care if it was dangerous. What could I do?

“One dumb decision can change everything,” I warned.

“Leave,” Jane said, not caring about anything said.

I held back my tears. She treats me like this all the time and never regrets what she says.

I was heading back up the stairs and I saw my sisters leaving the front door. Emma looked back, but Jane grabbed her wrist and they were both out the door.

“DON’T DO IT!” I yelled behind them.

It didn’t work but I couldn’t believe they thought that would be a fun idea. I ran upstairs to my room and fell back on my bed.

Emma and Jane have always been like this because they’re adopted. They didn’t feel like they were a part of this family. They never listened to anything our parents said.

They didn’t look like us either. Emma had red hair and blue-green eyes. Since they are twins, Jane looks just like her except her eyes are more blue. My younger sister, Anne and I have black hair with brown eyes.

Thinking about them made me more upset. How can they be this stubborn for so long?

I heard a loud crash, of course. I froze. I also heard screaming that could damage your hearing. I’m not sure if that’s my mother’s voice. I’m too scared to look out the window, I close my eyes tight.

Anne ran to my room and hugged me.

“What was that sound?” she asked.

I held her, but I didn’t answer her question. If what happened is what I think happened, then she’s too young to know about it right now.

My mother burst into my room. I can already tell she had bad news.

I stood up while ignoring Anne in front of me.

“Is it Emma and Jane?” I asked.

She nodded.

“Are they… here?” I know the answer already.

“They’re gone,” she answered.

I rushed into my mother’s arms and sobbed.

“They wouldn’t listen to me,” I explained. “They wouldn’t listen…”

Thoughts? Suggestions? Let me know in the comments below. Thanks for using your time to read this. You’re still breathing, so stay strong. Goodbye.

Leave a Reply

