Our Fake Story

It didn’t happen naturally.

Our story.

I did it for the feeling of personal glory.

I did it in a hurry to change their words.

My plan to change what I heard.

I did it to show my life wasn’t their concern.

There is nothing you earn from believing your own lives.

It deprives your sleep.

You forget how you speak.

The bigger picture is ready to sneak onto you.

I look in your eyes, and I know what you’re about to do.

At each game, I know who it turns to.

It’s a sign that I need to move with the thoughts in my head that run free,

And approve the wrong me.

 

I knew you wanted to quit our story, too.

The adventure wasn’t worth the new beginning.

You found more excitement in sitting.

Making it impossible to take a step further.

Letting your heart get colder.

Letting my eyes trip into another’s.

It hasn’t even fallen on your shoulders.

 

We all know fake is a simple term.

You pray for your one day

To forget walking alone in the rain.

All just to fake a smile

When you know you didn’t want this life for a while.

Because our story will never be as beautiful as the image.

I’ve pictured something that was destined to be damaged.

 

Thoughts? Suggestions? Let me know in the comments below. Thanks for using your time to read this. You’re still breathing, so stay strong. Goodbye.

 

Leave a Reply

